Hydroelectric Plants in India


Hydroelectric power is a major electrical power generation source.

Clean Fuel

The only fuel required for hydroelectric power generation is water. It is clean resource, has no pollutants, burning, or any sort of chemical reactions associated with it.

Small running charges

Compared to coal, gas, diesel power station and power stations, the hydroelectric station has very small running charges.


Power generation through hydroelectric stations relies on the water cycle. Water comes through the reservoir, flows through penstock, passes through turbines, exits the station and joins some river. In fact, this water is renewable and it is never wasted.


Simple in construction

Unlike complex nuclear, steam, and diesel auxiliaries the hydro dams are simple in construction and operations.

Less maintenance

Equipment requires little to none maintenance.

Supplementary benefits

Alongside power generation, the reservoir has supplementary benefits. Entire list comprises flood control, irrigational water, drinking water.

Longer life

The expected life of a hydroelectric station is around 30 – 35 years after which it demands an upgradation. The actual process of renovation depends on the individual plant.

List of Hydro Power Plants in India

1. Tehri Dam

Operator: THDC Limited, Uttarakhand

Location: Uttarakhand

2. Koyna Hydroelectric Project

Operator: MAHAGENCO, Maharashtra State Power Generation Co Ltd.

Location: Maharashtra

3. Srisailam

Operator: APGENCO

Location: Andhra Pradesh

4. Nathpa Jhakri

Operator: Satluj Jal Vidyut Nigam

Location: Himachal Pradesh

5. Sardar Sarovar Dam

Operator: Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Ltd

Location: Navagam, Gujarat

6. Bhakra Nangal Dam (Gobind Sagar)

Operator: Bhakra Beas Management Board

Location: Sutlej River, Bilaspur – Himachal Pradesh

7. Chamera I  

Operator: NHPC Limited

Location: Himachal Pradesh

8. Sharavathi Project

Operator: Karnataka Power Corporation Limited

Location: Karnataka

9. Indira Sagar Dam

Operator: Narmada Valley Development Authority

Location: Madhya Pradesh

10. Karcham Wangtoo Hydroelectric Plant

Operator: Jaypee Group

Location: Himachal Pradesh

11. Dehar (Pandoh) Power Project

Operator: Bhakra Beas Management Board

Location: Himachal Pradesh

12. Nagarjuna Sagar Dam Guntur

Operator: Andhra Pradesh Power Generation Corporation Limited

Location: Andhra Pradesh

13. Purulia Pass

Operator: West Bengal Electricity Distribution Company

Location: West Bengal

14. Idukki

Operator: Kerala State Electricity Board

Location: Kerala

15. Salal I & II  

Operator: NHPC Limited

Location: Jammu & Kashmir

16. Upper Indravati

Operator: Odisha Hydro Power Corporation

Location: Orissa

17. Ranjit Sagar Dam

Operator: Punjab State Power Corporation Limited

Location: Punjab

18. Omkareshwar

Operator: Narmada Hydroelectric Development Corporation

Location: Madhya Pradesh

19. Belimela Dam

Operator: Odisha Hydro Power Corporation

Location: Orissa

20. Teesta Dam

Operator: NHPC Limited

Location: Sikkim



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s